Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin review

“Rosemary and Guy Woodhouse, an ordinary young couple, settle into a New York City apartment, unaware that the elderly neighbors and their bizarre group of friends have taken a disturbing interest in them. But by the time Rosemary discovers the horrifying truth, it may be far too late!”

So 20+ years ago I watched the movie. Honestly I don’t remember anything. So I decided before I rewatched it I would read the book. I’ve seen that it’s suppose to be a downright scary, horror story….maybe there is something wrong with me 🤷🏻‍♀️. I did see where the spooky, creepy factors came into play but it sure did not scare the shit out of me. But I’ve been finding that is happening a lot. But more on that later…

Throughout the book I had to keep reminding myself that it was written in the 1960s. I kept wanted to yell at Guy and tell him to get his own damn food! 🙄 and yelling at Rosemary to grow a pair 😂😂. I wish we could have gotten more background on Hutch. I loved him. Guy was a complete asshole and I wish Rosemary would have stabbed him! 🔪. And Minnie and Roman! Ugh! I wanted to punch them also. Despite wanting to punch and kill a ton of characters I did enjoy the book! 😂 Ira didn’t beat around the bush, never made me bored. While I wish we could have had more story line, I feel he did a fantastic job making a story in 245 pages. 

4/5 🌟

I want to check out the sequel, Son of Rosemary, that he wrote 30 years later. It has horrible reviews but I’ll read it anyway. I also plan on checking out his other books. 
Now one to my problem with “horror” novels. I swear nothing scares me! It drives me insane. I do see the creepy vibes and spooky things but I have yet to find a book that scares the hell out me. Makes me need to put it down for a min, give me goosebumps, makes the hairs on my arm stand up, give me nightmares. HELP! In the comments below tell me books you’ve read that did all that you! I’m now on the hunt for books that will scare me! 

Instagram
Twitter
Thanks for reading! 💁🏻

3 thoughts on “Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin review

Add yours

      1. I don’t personally like scary movies, but could make it through Nosferatu because it wasn’t jump scares, just very menacing slow walking and standing in doorways haha. Our threshold for scary things and gore has advanced quite a bit from the 20s and even 60s.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

